Affiliated Faculty

IBER-affiliated faculty are accomplished researchers and dedicated educators. Through their research, discovery, and collaborations they are developing solutions to major challenges impacting the health, well-being, and quality of life for individuals of all ages.

Bioengineering Program

Dr. Terence McIff
  • James R. Neff/John and Harriet Wiebe Chair of Orthopedic Biomechanics
  • Director, Orthopedic Biomechanical and Bioengineering Laboratories

Department of Chemical & Petroleum Engineering

Department of Civil, Environmental, & Architectural Engineering

Anil Misra
  • Associate Director, Institute for Bioengineering Research
  • Professor, Civil, Enviromental and Architectural Engineering

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Department of Chemistry

School of Education

School of Pharmacy

William Picking
  • Foundation Distinguished Professor
  • Director, Kansas Vaccine Institute
  • Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Director, Higuchi Biosciences Center

University of Kansas Medical Center:
Dr. Steve Waller (KUMC)
Dr. Irina Smirnova (KUMC)
Dr. James Vacek (KUMC)
Dr. Benyi Li (KUMC)
Dr. Peter Row (KUMC)
Dr. Wen Liu (KUMC)
Dr. Randy Nudo (KUMC)
Dr. Terence McIff
Jinxi Wang (KUMC)
Koji Ebersole (KUMC)

Brenda Bohaty, DDS, PhD, Nelson Professor and Chair, Dept. of Pediatric Dentistry, UMKC School of Dentistry. Director, Advanced Program in Pediatric Dentistry, Children’s Mercy Hospital.

Malcolm L. Snead, D.D.S., Ph.D. Professor, Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology Chair, Biomedical Sciences Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry at USC The University of Southern California

Esra Yuca PhD, Asst. Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
Faculty of Arts and Science, Yildiz Technical University, Davutpasa Campus, 34210 Esenler Istanbul Turkey

University of Michigan

Xueding Wang (BME)
Yannis Paulus (Ophthalmology)

Professor Francesco dell’Isola, University of L'Aquila, L'Aquila, Italy

Dr. Luca Placidi, International Telematic University Uninettuno, Rome, Italy

Dr. Francois Hild, Univ. Paris-Saclay, France

Professor Tomasz Lekszycki, Warsaw University of Technology

Professor Emilio Turco, University of Sassari