Institute for Bioengineering Research

Awards 2014

  • 2014 Capitol Graduate Research Summit BIOE presenters: Emily Beck, Brittany Hartwell, and Lindsey Ott.
  • KU graduate students Banupriya Sridharan, bioengineering, and Aishik Chakraborty, chemical and petroleum engineering, were recognized at the 2014 Kansas City Area Life Sciences Institute annual dinner. “Science art” created in their labs were part of a silent auction fundraiser.
  • Maxwell Murphy, Ph.D. BioE student, was awarded a five-year Chancellor’s Fellowship in fall 2014.Cover of the 25th anniversary Bioconjugate Chemistry journal from June 2014
  • Jordan Borrell, Ph.D. BioE student, was accepted into the 2014-2015 Neurological and Rehabilitation Sciences Training Program at KUMC for the research he conducts with his advisor, Dr. Randy Nudo.
  • Brittney Mills, Qingxin Mu, Dr. Mary Krause, and Dr. Jennifer Laurence's article, "claMP Tag: A Versatile Inline Metal-Binding Platform Based on the Metal Abstraction Peptide," was published in the June 2014 issue of Bioconjugate Chemistry. Abstract.
  • Dr. Michael Detamore, BioE faculty affiliate, was named a University Scholarly Achievement Award 2014.
    • The award recognizes contributions that advance the field of scholarship, exhibit novelty and originality, promote scholarly and research activity at KU, and enhance the University’s national and international reputation.
  • Dr. Cory Berkland, BioE faculty affiliate, won the 2014 Baxendale Commercialization Award at the KU Innovation Fair. 
  • Dr. Paulette Spencer, IBER Director, received a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award to Brazil.