Institute for Bioengineering Research

Awards 2013

  • Ranganathan Parthasarathy, Ph.D. BioE student, won second place in the 2013 Graduate Engineering Division Sigma Xi Competition. The Sigma Xi competition requires a submission of a virtual research presentation, which is reviewed by leading career scientists.
    • Sigma Xi hosted its first Student Research Showcase, a virtual competition where almost 200 students presented their original research. High school, undergraduate and graduate students received awards for outstanding presentations in their categories and disciplines. Along with commemorative certificates, the winners will be featured in an upcoming issue of American Scientist magazine. 
  • Emily Beck, Ph.D. BioE student, was selected as a finalist in the 2013 ASME SBC Ph.D. Student Paper Competition.
  • Kevin Colbert, 2013 BioE graduate, created a startup company with classmates from his CBID program at Johns Hopkins University. 
  • GK-12 Fellowship holders, 2013-2014: Clayton Wauneka, Annaria Barnds, and Marshall Schmidt
  • Aly Boyer, Ph.D. BioE student, won second place in the Graduate Engineering Association Presentation Competition, University of Kansas School of Engineering on April 26, 2013.
  • Nikki Galvis, Ph.D. BioE student, was honored as a KU Woman of Distinction 2013 and tied for 1st place at the KU Innovation Fair.
  • Drs. Anil Misra and Qiang Ye were awarded the 2013 Leading Light award, along with four of the IBER's affiliates.
  • Dr. Paulette Spencer, IBER Director, was named a Bellows Scholar by KU School of Engineering.
  • Dr. Lisa Stehno-Bittel, BioE faculty affiliate, won the 2013 Baxendale Commercialization Award at the KU Innovation Fair. 
  • Dr. Sarah Kieweg, BioE faculty affiliate, was recognized as a University of Kansas Miller Scholar. Also, at the invitation of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and the NIH, Dr. Kieweg participated in the 2013 Think Tank on Drug Delivery Systems for HIV Prevention.